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Required Documents
(Any Document Reflecting Alteration Will Not be Accepted)

Requirements are based on North Carolina General Statutes 20-7 and 20-11.
If you are applying for a driver license, a learner’s permit or an ID card for the first time in North Carolina, you will
need to provide proof of your full name and date of birth, your NC residence address, provide your social security
number (SSN) or documentation indicating your legal presence in the U.S. You will need to provide proof of vehicle
liability insurance when applying for a driver license. The insurance policy must reflect your name.

Applicants under Age 18 Applying for a Driver License or Learner’s Permit:
If you are under age 18, you must provide either a Driving Eligibility Certificate, proof of graduation from high
school, or submit a GED. You must also provide proof of completion of a driver education course which consists of

30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours behind wheel instruction.

Table (1) - Proof of Age and Identity: You must provide proof of your age and identity from the list of
documents below. Two forms of identification are required. Additional documents may be required if DMV is
unable to verify your identity. For acceptable documents for proof of a name change, see Items 9 and 12 in the
table below. If you are unable to provide Item 9 or Item 12, you may complete an affidavit at DMV. Note: The
Division of Motor Vehicles may copy the documents presented or hold the documents for a brief period of time to

verify authenticity.

DOCUMENT

DETAILS

1. Driver License or State-Issued Identification Card
from NC or another State, Puerto Rico, a U.S.
Territory, or a Canadian Province

A driver license, learner’s permit or ID card that is expired
less than 2 years. The DL/ID or learner permit submitted
must reflect a photo.

2. Certified birth certificate issued by a government
agency in the U.S., Puerto Rico, a U.S. territory, or
Canada or U.S. Report of Consular Birth Abroad

Certified true copy, no photocopies unless certified by issuing
agency.

3. Original Social Security Card When submitted as a form of identification, the original
social security card is required.

4, Tax forms that reflects your full name and full SSN | W-2 or 1099

5. Motor Vehicle Driver’s Record e Certified NC Motor Vehicle Record
e Non-Certified NC Motor Vehicle Record
e Certified Out-of-State Motor Vehicle Record

6. NC school transcript/registration signed by a school | Driver Education Certificates, Driving Eligibility Certificates

official, or diploma or GED from an NC school,
community college or NC university

and report cards are not accepted as proof of identification.

7. Valid unexpired U.S. military ID, including DD-2,
DD-214, or U.S. Military Dependents Card, U.S.
Veteran Universal Access Card

Other than a DD 214, documents submitted as a form of
identification must be valid and unexpired.

8. Valid, unexpired Passport from any nation When submitted as a form of identification, the passport must
be valid and unexpired.
0. Certified document from a Register of Deeds or Marriage certificate, divorce decree, court document of name

government agency in the U.S, Puerto Rico, U.S.
territories or Canada

change

10. Limited Driving Privilege issued by a NC court Cannot be expired more than 1 year

11. Valid, unexpired documents issued by DHS/USCIS | An expired immigration document may be valid if
accompanied by a letter from USCIS extending the expiration
date (e.g. 1-797)

12. Court documents from U.S. jurisdiction, Puerto e Divorce Decree

Rico, U.S. territories or Canada

e Court order for change of name or gender
e Adoption Papers

Table (2) - Social Security Number Requirements: To obtain a driver license, learner’s permit, or ID card, you must
provide a Social Security Number (SSN). If you are not eligible for a SSN, you must provide document(s) indicating
your legal presence in the U.S. DMV will verify your SSN with the Social Security Administration (SSA). If DMV is
unable to verify your SSN with the SSA, you may be required to present documentation of your SSN. Documents that

you may present as proof of SSN include:

1. Social Security Card 5. Payroll record

2. 1099 Tax Form 6. Social Security Document reflecting the SSN
3. W-2Form 7. Military Record reflecting the SSN

4. DD-214 8. Medicaid or Medicare Card reflecting the SSN
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Table (3) - Proof of Residency in North Carolina: All first-time customers must show proof of their NC residence
address. This is in addition to showing proof of identity. One of the two forms of your identity documents from Table
(1) may reflect your NC residence address. You may complete an affidavit at DMV if you are unable to provide a
document from the table below. Documents that you may present as proof of residency that show your current NC
address, include:

1. Any document issued by this State or county, city, orthe | 6. Housing lease or contract, mortgage statement, property
federal government or income tax statement

2. NC Vehicle Registration Card or title 7. Preprinted financial statement

3. NC Voter Precinct Card 8. School records

4. Military Orders/Documents 9. NC Vehicle insurance policy

5. Utility bill or cable bill 10. Letter from homeless shelter

Table (4) - No Fee Voter ID Cards: To obtain an ID card for voting purposes, you will need to prove your age, identity,
and residency. To prove your age and identity, it is ideal that you provide 2 forms of identification from the list of
acceptable documents in Table (1). If you are unable to provide two forms of identification from the approved list of
acceptable documents in Table (1), DMV will review documents that you have in your possession. (Please see the
Alternative Documents list below for a non-exhaustive list of possible other documents DMV examiners will consider to
prove age and identity only for the purposes of no-fee ID cards.)

Additionally, to receive a no-fee Voter ID Card you must be a registered voter or fill out and sign a voter registration
application at the time you apply for your no-fee VVoter ID. If you are not a registered voter, DMV will assist you in
completing your voter registration application. You will be provided a receipt for your 1D card upon request. Your ID
card will be mailed to you. Please consider the following when applying for a no-fee Voter ID Card:

1. If you are no longer a legal presence customer, you must | 4. You must be a registered voter or submit to a voter
provide proof of your citizenship or naturalization registration application process

2. You must sign a declaration stating you do not have photo | 5. You must provide a valid SSN
ID acceptable to vote starting in 2016, as defined under
GS 163-166.13

3. You must provide proof of NC residency or sign a 6. You must provide proof of age and identity. This is done

residency affidavit (see Table 3). ideally by providing two (2) documents listed in Table
(1), but the DMV will review and consider alternative
documents such as those listed in the Alternative
Documents List below.

Alternative Documents List for the Purpose of Proving Age and Identity in the Application for No-Fee ID Cards:
If you are unable to provide documents from Table (1) and are seeking a no-fee Voter ID, bring whatever documents you have
to prove your age and identity. Below is a non-exhaustive list of alternative documents that DMV examiners may consider in
the context of an application for a no-fee Voter ID Card. If you bring documents that have an expiration date listed on them,
they must be unexpired:

- Certificate of Adoption

- College or Student ID

- Concealed Handgun Permit

- Department of Revenue Tax Document

- Employee or Government 1D

- Extended Health Care Facility Record

- Hunting or Fishing License

- License to Carry Firearms

- Life Insurance Policy

- Medicaid/Medicare Card

- Medical, Clinic, or Hospital Record

- Military Dependent’s ID Card

- Military Draft Record

- Passport Card

- Payment Statement or Check Stub

- Prison ID or Inmate Record

- Retirement Benefits Record

- Traffic Citation or Court Record

- U.S. Coast Guard Merchant ID Card

- U.S. Vital Statistics Official Notification of Birth Registration

Table (5) - No Fee ID Cards: To obtain a no-fee ID Card, you will need to prove your age, identity, and residency. To
prove your age and identity, it is ideal that you provide 2 forms of identification from the list of acceptable documents
in Table (1). If you are unable to provide two forms of identification from the approved list of acceptable documents in
Table (1), DMV will review whatever documents that you have in your possession. (Please see the Alternative
Documents list above in Table (4) for a non-exhaustive list of possible other documents DMV examiners will consider to
prove age and identity only for the purposes of no-fee ID cards.)

If you are homeless, you must provide proof from the shelter where you reside. If you are legally blind, you must
provide proof from the American or North Carolina Council of the Blind. You will be provided a receipt for your ID
card upon request. Your ID card will be mailed to you. When applying for a no-fee ID Card, please consider the
following:

1. You must provide proof of age and identity. Thisisdone | 4. You must provide proof of NC residency (see Table 3)
ideally by providing two (2) documents listed in Table (1),
but the DMV will review and consider alternative
documents such as those listed in the Alternative
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Documents List above in Table (4).
2. You must provide a valid SSN 5. If no SSN, proof of legal presence in the U.S.
(see Table 8)
3. If you are formerly non-citizen, you must provide proof of | 6. You must be one of the following:
your citizenship or naturalization - 70 years of age or older,
- legally blind,
- have a medical cancellation on your driver license, or
- homeless

Table (6) - ID Cards: To obtain an ID card, you will need to provide 2 forms of identification from the list of
acceptable documents in Table (1). If you are unable to provide two forms of identification from the approved list of
acceptable documents, DMV will review documents that you have in your possession. When your ID card is issued, you
will be provided a receipt upon request. Your ID card will be mailed to you.

1. Provide proof of age and identity (see Table 1) 4. Provide proof of NC residency (see Table 3)

2. Provide a valid SSN 5. Ifno SSN, proof of legal presence in the U.S.

3. If you are formerly non-citizen, you must provide proof of
your citizenship or naturalization

Table (7) — Proof of Legal Presence in the U.S.: To obtain a driver license, learner permit or an identification card, you
will need to show proof of legal presence in the U.S. Based on your legal presence status; you may be required to
present multiple documents. You will also need to provide 2 forms of identification from the list of acceptable
documents in Table (1).

1. Permanent Resident Card (1-551) 8. Waiver Traveler/Waiver Business (WT/WB) Admission
Stamp

2. Machine-Readable Immigrant Visa (MRIV) with Temp I- | 9. U.S. Passport or U.S. Passport Card
551 Language

3. Temporary I-551 Stamp on Passport or 1-94 10. Other Documents (Non-Student) w/Alien Number

4. 1-766 Employment Authorization Card 11. 1-220 B Order of Supervision w/1-766 card

5. 1-20 (F1,F2, M1, M2) Certification with 1-94 12. 1-512L Authorization for Parole of an Alien into the U.S.
Acrrival/Departure Document or Unexpired Foreign wi/supporting immigration document (1-551, 1-766 or I-
Passport with CBP Admission Stamp 94)

6. DS2019 (J1, J2) Certification with 1-94 Arrival/Departure | 13. Unexpired Foreign Passport w/CBP Admission Stamp
Document or Unexpired Foreign Passport with CBP
Admission Stamp

7. 1-94 Arrival/Departure Record — Electronic 1-94

Table (8) — Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA): To obtain a driver license, learner permit or an
identification card, you will need to show proof of legal presence in the U.S. Based on your legal presence status; you
may be required to present multiple documents. You will also need to provide 2 forms of identification from the list of
acceptable documents in Table (1).

1. Employment Authorization Document reflecting Category | 2. 1-797 Notice of Action (Case type 1-821) Approval
C33 Notice with valid “to and from” dates

Table (9) - Proof of Insurance for Driver License: If you are obtaining a driver license, you will need to provide proof
of liability insurance coverage from a North Carolina-licensed insurance carrier. Documents that you may present as
proof of vehicle insurance include:

1. Form DL-123 from your insurance agent 3. An insurance binder

2. Vehicle insurance policy reflecting your name and the 4. An insurance card with your name, the policy number
issue and expiration dates and issue and expiration dates




