T

NORTH CAROLINA DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

TEMPORARY DRIVER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS

FOR COMPLETING THE “RENEWAL/ORIGINAL” DRIVER LICENSE
APPLICATION (Rev. 02/2011)

In accordance with the General Statutes of North Carolina, the “Division may renew by mail a
drivers license issued by the Division to a person who meets any of the following descriptions™:

10.
11.

12.
13.

(1) Is serving on active duty in the armed forces of the United States and is stationed outside this
State.
(2) Is a resident of this State and has been residing outside the State for at least 30 continuous
days.
PLEASE FOLLOW ALL INSTRUCTIONS

Complete the application in its entirety. (Please Print, Date and Sign each page)
Military personnel and Department of Defense personnel must submit either Military or
Department of Defense credentials along with this application. Documents presented
must be legible with no appearance of alterations.

o  Current military orders

e  Current military Identification Card (copy of front and back)

e Current Department of Defense orders

e  Current Department of Defense employment credentials
The cost of the license must accompany this application
DO NOT SEND CASH. Send check or money order made out to NCDMYV, will not
accept a starter check.
You must provide a permanent North Carolina address
You must provide a temporary out-of-state residence address
You must provide a temporary out-of-state mailing address
If you wish to change your name, you must appear before a North Carolina License
Examiner
The vision statement must be completed and signed by a Vision Specialist or a Driver
License Examiner in the State in which you temporarily reside
The vision scores must be acceptable numeric, readable acuity
This application must be completed and returned within 60 days or additional fees may
apply
Sex Offender Affidavit must be dated and signed to complete processing
ALL PAGES of returned application must be originals, dated and signed to complete
Out of State Renewal processing

North Carolina Law G.S. 20-30(5). To use a false or fictitious name or give a false or fictitious address
in any application for a driver’s license or learner’s permit, or any renewal or duplicate thereof, or
knowingly to make a false statem ent or knowingly conceal a material fuct or otherwise commit a fraud
in any such application, or for any perso n to procure, or knowingly permit or allow another to comm it
any of the foregoing acts. Any license or learner’ permit procured as aforesaid shall be void from the
issuance thereof, and any moneys paid therefore shall be forfeited to the State.

WARNING: The use of fulse or fictitious information in any application for a license or learner permit
is a felony violation of state law and may be a violation of federal postal law.
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NORTH CAROLINA DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES TEMPORARY
DRIVER LICENSE
RENEWAL/ORIGINAL APPLICATION (DL-15B REV. 02/11)

All portions of this application must be completed and returned within 60 days.
This application will not be processed if received without the cost of the license.

Application Date: Cost:

Full Name:
Date of Birth: s

North Carolina License Number:
Social Security No: (Last 4 Digits)
Contact Phone:

Email Address: S
Active Duty Personnel: Yes/No Reserves Personnel: Yes/No  Department of Defense: Yes/No

Military/DOD Orders Attached: Yes/No

Branch of Service:

Military/DOD Dependant: Yes/No Military/DOD Spouse: Yes/No  Civilian Non-Military: Yes/No

TDY Country/Jurisdiction of Location:

Permanent North Carolina
Residence Address:
(Required)

Out of State Residence Address:

(Required)

Out of State Mailing Address:

(Required)

1. If you are active duty military, military dependent, military spouse, Reserves or DOD,
military orders and military ID must be included with the return of this application
before processing can be completed.

2. Do you currently have a motorcycle endorsement on your driver license?  Yes/No

3. The cost of a motorcycle endorsement is $1.75 for each year remaining on your license.

4. Would you like to retain this endorsement?  Yes/No

Signature: Date:

Must be dated, signed and returned with application
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If you indicated a “Civilian Non-Military™ status on page 2, provide a brief
statement in the space below referencing the reason for not appearing in North
Carolina at a driver license office to obtain a renewal of your North Carolina driver
license.

1. For proof of school, an enrollment form reflecting the period of study must be

forwarded.

2. For proof of employment, an employee work record must be forwarded.

3. The documentation must include contact information for verification.
This information must be forwarded with this application in order for your request
to be reviewed.

Signature: Date:

Civilians — must date, sign and return with application

Military — supply copy of current military orders, military ID (front and back) and copy of
face of NC drivers license



DL-77 North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles

S DRIVER LICENSE SECTION
CERTIFICATE OF EXAMINATION BY VISION SPECIALIST
NAME:
CUSTOMER NUMBER: DOB:
I hereby authorize Dr. to give any examination deemed necessary for the purpose

of determining my visual fitness o operate a motor vehicle. [ also authorize any other physicians who auended me. or
any hospital or clinic in which I have been examined or treated, to give the Division of Motor Vehicles or its representa-
tive any information they may request concerning my condition. | understand this authorizes the Division’s panel of
physicians 1o review my case.

Signature of Applicant

Parent or Guardian if Minor

NOTE VISION SPECIALIST ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED

1. Diagnosis?

2. Progressive condition? O Yes 1 No
3. Visual acuity BOTH EYES RIGHT LEFT
TOGETHER EYE ONLY EYE ONLY
W/Best Correction 20/ 20/ 20/
WO/Best Correction 20/ 20/ 20/
4. Field of Vision (degrees) RIGHT LEFT
—/ l—
N T N |

5. Recommend corrective lenses? L Yes [ No
6. New lenses prescribed? O Yes 1 No

Comments:

7. In your professional opinion does the patient's visual impairment compromise their ability to operate a motor vehicle
safely? U Yes 1 No

8. Recommend any other restrictions? ] None [ Daylight driving only 1 45MPH, No interstate
4 Miles from home 1 Other:

9. Bioptic lens prescribed? U Yes O No
10. Recommend DMV follow-up? 1 Yes  J No

This certificate is presented to authorize your professional evaluation of a visual impairment. Your findings, recorded
on this certificate, will make possible a complete evaluation of this person’s visual qualifications for safe motor vehicle
operation.

Date Signature of Specialist

Print Name

Street

City

Telephone
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DL 231
(02/11)

Sex Offender Affidavit

REGISTRATION REQUIREMENT FOR CERTAIN OFFENDERS

I acknowledge that the Division of Motor Vehicles has notified me that, pursuant to N.C. General
Statute § 14-208.7, any person who has been convicted in any state of an offense against a minor
or a sexually violent offense as defined in N.C. General Statute § 14-208.6 is required to register
with the sheriff of the county where the person resides within 10 days of establishing residence in
this state, or whenever the person has been present in this state for 15 days, whichever comes
first.

Any person convicted of any of the above-referenced offenses must report to the Sheriff in their
county of residence for a specific determination as to their requirement to register.

I certify, under penalty of perjury, that I understand my requirement to register if I have
been convicted of an offense that requires registration as a sex offender.

Date:

Print Full Name:

Signature of Applicant:

Must be dated, signed and returned with application



