
1. OUT OF STATE RESIDENTS MOVING TO NORTH CAROLINA MUST OBTAIN A NORTH CAROLINA DRIVER LICENSE
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Liens: All liens must be declared in order of their priority.

Odometer Disclosure Statement (MVR-180): Seller shall disclose the mileage to the buyer in writing on the application with signatures 

and hand printed name.  If a vehicle is 10 years old and older, odometer reading is not required.

Driver License Number:  Each owner of the vehicle must present a valid North Carolina Driver License or Special Identification Card to 

register the vehicle in North Carolina.  The name on the Driver License and application should be the same.  After successfully 

completing the driver license process, you will be given a Temporary Driver Certificate.  A Temporary Driving Certificate is valid for 20 

days from the date issued.  The driver license is mailed to your residence within 20 days of application.  In order to register a vehicle you 

must have your valid out of state driver license along with your valid Temporary Driving Certificate. 
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Name: For single or joint ownership, the full name of each owner is required.  No initials are accepted unless they stand in lieu of a 

name.  For corporations, the full corporate name is required.  For partnership and proprietorship, the trade name is required, if one is 

used, or if partnership, both partners' full names are required.

Address: The North Carolina residence address, including the zip code and county (not post office number), is required for individuals; 

for business firms, the business address is required.  Include the mailing address when it is different from the residence address.  The 

county declared is the North Carolina county in which the vehicle is located.  

PRIOR TO TITLING A VEHICLE.

2. APPLICATION (FORM MVR-1)

North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles

Witness: The application must be witnessed by a notary public or other person authorized to act in the capacity.

To obtain or transfer a North Carolina registration plate, the law requires your vehicle be insured by a company licensed to do business in 

the State of North Carolina in minimum amounts of $30,000/$60,000/$25,000.  This certification must be furnished at the time of 

application for registration.

3. FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

4. DOCUMENTS OF OWNERSHIP REQUIRED

New Unregistered Vehicles        

The manufacturer's certificate of origin, properly assigned, is required with a bill of sale showing price and trade-in vehicle and credit.

REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING NORTH CAROLINA REGISTRATION

Vehicles Registered in Randolph County (in addition to regular license plate fee)     

Piedmont Authority for Regional Transportation Tax

Vehicles Registered in Orange County (in addition to regular license plate fee)     

Regional Transit Authority Registration Tax     

County Vehicle Registration Tax 

Highway Use Tax (HUT)     

Dealer Sale - 3% of sale price plus any Administrative/Document Fee less any trade-in price     

Casual Sale - 3% of computer value of vehicle     

Out of State - Up to $250.00 Max. (*If tax is paid on the vehicle to taxing jurisdiction within 90 days, credit may be allowed - proof of payment 

is required)

Vehicle Property Tax - Calculated by a computerized taxing system

Certificate of Title

Plate Fee, Private Passenger Vehicles

Plate Fee, Private Truck Under 4,000 lbs. 

Vehicles Registered in Wake County (in addition to regular license plate fee)     

Regional Transportation Authority Registration Tax

Vehicles Registered in Durham County (in addition to regular license plate fee)     

Regional Transit Authority Registration Tax     

County Vehicle Registration Tax 

5. TITLE AND REGISTRATION FEES
Effective September 2013, property taxes are due at the time of license plate renewals and issuances.

New or Used Vehicles Registered in Certificate of Title States

The certificate of title in the name of the applicant (properly assigned) must include the purchaser's name and address, date of sale or 

date of delivery, seller's signature and notarization.  If the title is in the possession of a lienholder who can produce evidence of 

registration and lien, the Division of Motor Vehicles will accept the application without the title and will issue a plate. 

New or Used Vehicles Registered in Non-Title States

If the vehicle was last registered in a state with no title requirement for registration, the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles 

requires current registration certificate, proof of purchase, and evidence of registration for three consecutive years.




